Join GLAAD and take action for acceptance.

    2024 Social Media Safety Index

    Social Media Safety Index Advisory Committee

    The GLAAD SMSI advisory committee includes an array of respected leaders working at the intersections of tech accountability and LGBTQ social justice.

    ALOK (they/them)
    Internationally acclaimed writer, performer, and media personality

    Lucy Bernholz (she/her)
    Director, Digital Civil Society Lab at Stanford University

    Alejandra Caraballo, Esq. (she/her)
    Clinical Instructor, Cyberlaw Clinic, Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society, Harvard Law School

    Joan Donovan, PhD (she/her)
    Founder, Critical Internet Studies Institute and Assistant Professor of Journalism and Emerging Media Studies, Boston University

    Jelani Drew-Davi (they/them)
    Senior Communications Specialist, Kairos

    Liz Fong-Jones (she/her)
    Field CTO, Honeycomb

    Evan Greer (she/they)
    Director, Fight for the Future

    Leigh Honeywell (she/her)
    CEO and Co-founder, Tall Poppy

    Maria Ressa (she/her)
    Journalist and CEO, Rappler

    Tom Rielly (he/him)
    Founder, TED Fellows Program and Founder,

    Dr. Sarah T. Roberts (she/her)
    Faculty Director, UCLA Center for Critical Internet Inquiry and Associate Professor, Department of Gender Studies at UCLA

    Brennan Suen (he/him)
    Deputy Director of External Affairs, Media Matters for America

    Kara Swisher (she/her)
    Renowned journalist and Editor-at-Large at New York Magazine, and host of “On with Kara Swisher” and “Pivot” podcasts

    Marlena Wisniak (she/her)
    Senior Advisor, Digital Rights, European Center for Not-for-Profit Law

    More Publications from GLAAD

    stay tuned!