Join GLAAD and take action for acceptance.

    2024 Social Media Safety Index


    GLAAD is grateful to the many organizations and individuals with whom we do this important work.

    We especially want to acknowledge our SMSI advisory committee: ALOK; Lucy Bernholz; Alejandra Caraballo, Esq.; Joan Donovan; Jelani Drew-Davi; Liz Fong-Jones; Evan Greer; Leigh Honeywell; Maria Ressa; Tom Rielly; Dr. Sarah T. Roberts; Brennan Suen; Kara Swisher; and Marlena Wisniak.

    Very special thanks to: Research consultant, Andrea Hackl, anti-LGBTQ extremism researcher Sarah Moore, and the team at Ranking Digital Rights. Thanks to GLAAD staff including Senior Art Director Crystal Stratford, Web Producer Heidi Spillum, Research Assistant Allison Bloom, Chief Communications Officer Rich Ferraro, Social Media Safety Program Manager Leanna Garfield and Senior Director of Social Media Safety Jenni Olson. And extra special thanks to anyone else we forgot to mention. The work of countless journalists, researchers, activists, and others continues to drive change forward. We are indebted to them all.

    This report would not have been possible without the support of: Craig Newmark Philanthropies, the Gill Foundation, and Logitech. We are also grateful to David Hornik, Kara Swisher, and the Stanford Center on Philanthropy and Civil Society for early support of this project.

    If you’d like to support the work of the Social Media Safety program and this report, please donate to GLAAD at

    More Publications from GLAAD

    stay tuned!